Crystal Glass

Site about crystal glass

Types of wine

Wine what do you need to know

Sweet, dry, white or red? Here is an overview concerning types of wine. This classification is quite complicated, because it relies heavily on the factors we take into account. Knowledge on the types of wine will allow you to compliment the taste of dishes perfectly and you will also avoid a faux pax! Factors such as colour, alcoholic strength, sugar content and way of consumption can be a basis for classification.

Types of wine, in terms of colour, are common and they seldom pose any difficulties. There are white wines, red wines and pink wines. The white wine can be light yellow to brownish. The red wine can be light red, dark cherry colour with a shade of purple. Pink wine is made of, for instance, red currants.

Types of wine can be classified on the basis of alcoholic content. The strength of wine divides wines into the following categories: light, medium, strong, fortified and alcoholised. Light wines contain about 10% of alcohol, medium wines contain from 10% to 14%, whereas the strong wines contain over 14% and up to 18% of alcohol. The strength of fortified wines exceeds 18%. It is better to play safe and learn about this classification in order to avoid a nasty headache after a couple of glasses the evening before!

Types of wine can be distinguished on the basis of sugar content. The average consumer often takes this factor (apart from colour) into account. There are dry wines, semi-dry wines, semi-sweet wines and sweet wines. As it is the case with strength, particular types are distinguished by the sugar content, varying from 1% up to 16%. Dry wines fit within 2%-4% range, while sweet wines are characterized by sugar content of over 8%.

The interesting thing is that the way of consumption can also provide a basis for types of wine classification. Wines consumed during meals are called table wines (these are dry and semi-dry wines). Sweet and semi- sweet wines are served with desserts and cakes and this is why they are called dessert wines. Liquor wines are consumed just like dessert wines, but they have a high density.

It is worth noting here, that there are also special qualitative features. Traditional fruit wines are different than wines with specific qualitative features, such as sparkling wines, aerated wines, herbal

If you are looking for wine glass visit

Next Post

Leave a Reply

© 2017 Crystal Glass

Theme by Anders Norén